Friday, August 19, 2011

Linux Kernel Architecture

Linux kernel is composed of five main sub system.

The Process Scheduler (SCHED)

The Memory Manager (MM)

Virtual File System (VFS)

Network Interface (NET)

Inter-Process Communication (IPC).

Linux kernel provide virtual interface to user process. Each subsystem of kernel have a set of data structure and corresponding program to work on that data structure. To understand the linux kernel internals we need to elaborate each of the subsystem. The data structure of each of subsystem need to be understand first.